Hi all,

I am new to Web programming, most of the time have done GUI development in C++/MFC and played a bit with Java/Swing.
I have read about DHTML and its ability to enable interactive Web applications.
Before delving into DHTML programming I would like to know what are the surprises; people in my group ask the following questions:

1. Why do we need this DHTML stuff? (after all, we already have Java)
2. Does it work across browsers?
3. Are there any development tools that support DHTML programming?
4. Can we use DHTML to develop GUI applications like we do with Java?

Thanks for your time,
Sergiu.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

DHTML refers to the client-side manipulation of the Web Browswer DOM (Document Object Model), which includes HTML and CSS (Cascading Style Sheets), via JavaScript scripting.

There are IDEs, such as FrontPage and Dreamweaver. As an experienced coder, you won't need them.

What DHTML does NOT do, is provide any server-side functionality. For that you should look into (in your case) JSP (Java Server Pages), or PHP.

Server-side functionality includes, primarily, interaction with a database, and robust validation, file i/o, communication with other platforms, etc.

Hi tgreer,

Did some reading about the DOM and I understand that it is an API that allows the manipulation an HTML page while loaded in a browser.

But, why anybody would like to write JavaScript programs that manipulate the DOM in a browser?

My assumption is that it can be used increase application's interactivity and decrease server/network load -- is that true?

Asked about FrontPage and DreamWeaver, and I have been told that those are designer-oriented tools. What I am looking for is a DHTML-oriented tool -- something built from the ground up to support DHTML development/debugging/testing -- is there something like this?

By peeking at the DOM API I noticed that it works on the HTML element level.