Hi everyone.

I've run into another problem :(

I have 3 JS files I want to include in my page. The first one is defined statically in the html file. The other two are loaded into the DOM using the following function:

function loadJsFile(pathToFile){
	var headID = document.getElementsByTagName("head")[0];         
	var newScript = document.createElement('script');
	newScript.type = 'text/javascript';
	newScript.src = pathToFile;
	headID.appendChild(newScript);
}

I then use DOMContentLoaded or onload events to trigger my initiation function combining functions from the 3 files. This works perfectly in Opera, firefox and (I assume) Internet Explorer but doesn't work in Safari or Chrome. For those two browsers, I have resorted to using the onmouseover event.

I then tried and loaded the 3 files statically and that worked.

Any ideas?

btw: I'm a just a beginner to JS

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

Webkit browsers start executing javascript that is not tied to any event before the DOM finishes loading.

The exact cure depends on what is where, but the general idea is to put everything in onload= or readystatechange= event handlers. Sometimes moving everything to the end of the body [out of the <head>] will do it, but I'm guessing that may not be enough in this case.

Thanks for the reply.

I'm not sure how to use the readystatechange or the load them into the body. :S

I don't want to make a new thread on some other forum so I think I'll bump this one. :(
Hope someone is here to help me out ;)

First, putting the javascript at the end of the body

<script>
</script>
</body>

is trivial, if it happens to work.

Second, it isn't obvious why placing the script(s) 'statically' is not the complete solution (especially given that it works).

Finally, if for some reason you cannot give up on the event approach, Googling for
document.addEventListener("DOMContentLoaded"