OK, that's something to go on.

Could you remind me, what is the nature of the returned HTML? Is it a fully formed table or just table rows?

Airshow

Since I'm still new to this. What do you mean by fully formed table or just table rows? I believe my search result echos out rows from my database.

but now when I test my alerts, I get div tag alerts in my SUCCESS alert, and for COMPLETE: success

OK, but does the SUCCESS alert also have the output of your php search script?

try:

$(document).ready(function(){

$("form.ajax").submit(function(){
     var ajax_div = $(this).attr("id")+"_results";
     var data = $(this).serialize();
     var url  = $(this).attr("action");
     var type = "GET";//$(this).attr("method").toUpperCase();
    // alert([url, data, type].join("\n"));//debug alert
     $.ajax({
        url: url,
        data: data,
        type: type,
        success: function(data){
            alert("SUCCESS: " + data);//debug alert
            if( document.getElementById(ajax_div) )
            {
             $("#"+ajax_div).html(data);
            }
            else
            {
              alert('I was not able to locate any element with id=' + ajax_div +'. You must provide a "target" element in which to dump/load the results!');
            }
        },
	        complete: function(XMLHttpRequest, textStatus){
          //  alert("COMPLETE: " + textStatus);//debug alert
        },
        error: function(XMLHttpRequest, textStatus){
           // alert("ERROR: " + textStatus);//debug alert
        }
     });
     return false;
  });

});

The success has an output of an HTML tag that I commented out. Why is that?

<!-- the html tag --!>

or if I do take it out I just get

SUCCESS:

and doesnt show anything.

I do have <table> tags with echoing out the rows from my database.

and HTML CLOSING comment tag does NOT have a "!" symbol. The proper comment should be:

<!-- the html tag -->

WRONG:

<!--require("includes/pagination.php")!-->

CORRECT: