I am driving an html site from my network drive in my office that can be viewd on LAN. I need to put a blog kind of section on my site so people who visite this site can leave there comments on it and all can see thses comments. Can someone help me with this please?

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

I don't think this forum would suite what you need. What database management software are you using? What web frame work are you using? It is not all about web page but there are other hardware & architecture involved...

I am not that good with html. I created few html pages and jot them together using frame rule. So it looks like a website. Let me put it this way. I need to have this blog thing on a webpage. You can say that I am running a webpage from a computer. When i say that I am running it from my network drive I ment a space on a server allocated to all the users in our office. I did it form my Network drive so this page remains online all the times within our LAN. In simple way I want to have somthign simmilar to this page I am using to communicate to you. Thanx :)

Well, you still need a database management software installed in your drive in order to save all the data (blog comment). There are things about security that you need to deal with in order to enable others to write into your local drive (even though it is what you call network drive). Also, a web page normally does not allow access to local storage (except IE using ActiveX object which is not a standard), so it is somewhat impossible to create a real blog without database. If it is your local drive and works as a network drive, you should be able to install a free database management software (such as MySQL, Postgres, sqlLite, hypersonic, etc), a server, and a web framework (depends on what technology you prefer). Then you could start working on it. I am not sure you are ready for it yet because it would be a lot of preparation if you do not know about it at all.