Aww. I'm so sorry. I've been reading topics posted here about updating database using form. but i can't seem to find my error.

I want to update my database using HTML forms. where in after i click a button "Edit Record" A page containing forms will appear where i can update using input type as text. then after will click the button "Done Editing" and a message Successful will appear

here is my code for update: this will just print the "Successful" but then the database isn't updating. o.o

<?php
$a=$_POST['e'];
$b=$_POST['f'];

$con = mysql_connect("localhost","*****","****");
if (!$con)
  {
  die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error());
  }

mysql_select_db("*****", $con);

mysql_query("UPDATE Sample SET Fname='$a' AND Lname='$b'");

echo "Successful";

mysql_close($con);
?>

I'm a total noob. i'm self studying about this topic. thank you so much.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

...SET Fname='$a' AND Lname='$b' you need to get rid of AND. To update multiple fields, you need to separate them with a comma, NOT with the keyword AND. Try the following:

<?php
if( isset($_POST) && !empty($_POST) )
{

mysql_connect("localhost","*****","****") or die('Could not connect:<br />' . mysql_error());
	mysql_select_db("*****", $con) or die( 'Unable to select db:<br />' . mysql_error() );

$a=mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['e']);
	$b=mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['f']);

$sql="UPDATE `Sample` SET `Fname`='$a',`Lname`='$b'";

mysql_query($sql) or die('Unable to execute query: <br />'.$sql.'<br />'.mysql_error()) ;

echo "Successful";

mysql_close($con);
}
else
{
	echo "No data was posted!";
}
?>

...SET Fname='$a' AND Lname='$b' you need to get rid of AND. To update multiple fields, you need to separate them with a comma, NOT with the keyword AND. Try the following:

<?php
if( isset($_POST) && !empty($_POST) )
{

mysql_connect("localhost","*****","****") or die('Could not connect:<br />' . mysql_error());