I am new to java, I need to save a image file from my system to my web application. How to do that in jsp or java? Need help urgently.....

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

If you are new in java then this task is not for you. If you had previous experience with jsp then that experience would have been acquired by studying, and you would know what you needed to do:

You need to search the net for examples on how to load files. You will use the input tag type="file" in your jsp/html code.

There are plenty of examples that you can find by searching.

After you are done loading the file, how do you want to save it? The easiest way would be to create a folder at your server and copy the files there.

Thanks for the reply. I used manage with the code below, I have included this code in jsp. Its working fine if i use the static path. I need to use the dynamic path of the image to be uploaded from the Input tag file. I dont know how to get that inside this java code. Help me regarding that.....

<%@ page import="java.io.*" %>

<%
String source = "/blue.jpg";
String destination = "/images/blue.jpg";

File sourceFile=new File(source);
BufferedInputStream bis = new BufferedInputStream(new FileInputStream(sourceFile), 4096);
String fileName=getServletContext().getRealPath(destination);
File targetFile = new File(fileName);
targetFile.createNewFile();
BufferedOutputStream bos = new BufferedOutputStream(new FileOutputStream(targetFile), 4096);
int theChar;
while ((theChar = bis.read()) != -1) {
        bos.write(theChar);
}
bos.close();
bis.close();
%>

Have you used what I suggested:

<input type="file" />

In order to load the image? I don't see it since you hard coded the file source name. Search the web for examples on how to load file with that attribute and what other arguments it takes.

Yes I have used tag <input type="file" name="imageFile" /> also to get dynamic file path. But I dont know how to use that file in java.