Hi all,

I am completely new to PHP and MySQL, but I need to learn it for a project my friends and I are working on. So, I found a tutorial on how to create a user registration and log in system using PHP and MySql. I am having an issue with both aspects.

First I have a file called db.php The code looks like this:

<?php
session_start(); 
mysql_connect("localhost", "dbuser", "dbpassword"); 
mysql_select_db("myDB");
function user_login($username, $password) 
{
$username = mysql_real_escape_string($username); 
$password = mysql_real_escape_string($password); 
$sql = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM usersystem WHERE username = 'username' AND password = 'password' LIMIT 1"); 
$rows = mysql_num_rows($sql); 
if ($rows<1)
{ 
echo "Incorrect username/password"; 
}
else 
{ 
echo "Logged in";
$_SESSION['sername'] = $username; 
} 
}
?>

The code for the register.php file is as follows:

<?php 
include("db.php"); 
if (isset($_POST['username']) && isset($_POST['password']) && isset($_POST['email']))

{ 

$username = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['username']); 
$email = mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['email']); 

$password = md5($_POST['password']); 

$sql = mysql_query("SELECT username FROM usersystem WHERE username = 'username'");

If (mysql_num_rows($sql>0)) 

{ 
die ("Username taken."); 
} 

mysql_query("INSERT INTO usersystem (username, password, email) VALUES ( '$username', '$password', '$email')") or die (mysql_error()); echo "Account created.";

} 
?>

<html><form action="register.php" method="post">
Username: <input name="username" type="text" />
Password: <input type="password" name="password" />
Email: <input name="email" type="text" />
<input type="submit" value="Submit" />
</form>
</html>

The issue with the registration page is after posting the information to the database it provides this message: Warning: mysql_num_rows(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /home/.../register.php on line 17

It does echo back: Account created.