hi all,

I have a problem in applying timer control on asp.net web pages.

in my web application i m having assessment pages, where i am retrieving question and answer from database.

everything is working fine but i want some kind of restrictions, like Assessment Time(20 Minute) so user can attempt question for specified time only.

there should be a time limit Time Limit In Assessment(Exam).

Can anyone help me? Deeply appreciated.

Cheerios

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Store start time into the Session and get difference when a user submit his/her answer.

Store start time into the Session and get difference when a user submit his/her answer.

Thank you. This is my first time creating timer, i know is place on the page load however i not really sure what is the exact coding for it. Can you guide me?

Deeply appreciated.

Cheerios

Code might be.

In page_load handler,

if(Session["start"]==null)
   {
      Session["start"]=DateTime.Now;
   }
 DateTime dt=(DateTime)Session["start"];
 TimeSpam ts= DateTime.Now - dt;
  //Read TimeSpan's properties

Code might be.

In page_load handler,

if(Session["start"]==null)
   {
      Session["start"]=DateTime.Now;
   }
 DateTime dt=(DateTime)Session["start"];
 TimeSpam ts= DateTime.Now - dt;
  //Read TimeSpan's properties

Thank you so much. Could you translate the coding to vb? Sorry for asking so much questions as i'm still a beginner in asp.net. Thank you :)

Louis,

Your problem will be whether you intend on having a 'real-time' look and feel to your application or whether you want to check the actual time spent on the question AFTER the user submits the request to the server.