Hello,

I was wondering if someone could help me. I am new to mysql/php and I was wondering if there is a way that I can have php create pages for me. What I want is that I no longer need to create new page, so I will have a template and all of the fields will come out of my db. And if I add a new person 'Bob', It will automatically create a new page. Like this

this will be my template: www.mysite.com/person/template.php

and it will create:
www.mysite.com/person/bob.php
www.mysite.com/person/joe.php

Thanks,

Aaron

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

This would be the absolute wrong way to go about this.
You would be left with multiple copies of outdated code as soon as your updated your template to resolve any bugs/security holes etc.

I'm not sure what you're pages will be displaying, I'm going to assume its for a profile-like system.

In which case you should create a single point of entry, index.php (or any file) and use a variable in the url to switch between users.

e.g.
mysite.com/person/?u=bob (assuming index.php)
mysite.com/person/bob (using .htaccess & mod_rewrite)
mysite.com/person/profile.php?u=1 (non-index.php access)

This way as you uncover security issues, bugs etc. and you will. You can modify the code in one place. Also makes it easier to roll out updates or new features etc.

<?php

if( !isset($_GET['u']) ){
  echo 'Must specify a user';
  exit;
}

$user = $_GET['u'];

//Do some kind of validation/filtering on the user variable
if ( !is_valid($user) ){
   echo 'Invalid user!';
   exit;
}

//Compile down all information from user
//Do some SQL queries, load images, etc.

//Display the output to the user
echo $content;

**NOTE: This is NOT functional/working code. Just illustrates the basic concept of how this would work.

Hi mschroeder,