Hey guys,

I understand how to setup the cron job to run once a day. Now I am having trouble putting together a function to do the following:

I need to delete all content (rows) automatically where the "expire_date" field is equal to or greater than todays date. Keep in mind I need a php file like (expire.php) to make my cron job execute, so it needs to delete all expired content.

I am still new to PHP, but I figure trying to do something like this will help me learn a bit faster.

So far I have something like:

function delete_expired() {
    $current_date = date("m.d.y"); 
    $sql = "DELETE * FROM cms_table WHERE delete_date => $current_date"; 
    $res = mysql_query($sql) or die(mysql_error());

// NOT SURE WHAT TO PUT HERE, MAYBE AN IF STATEMENT? //

}  // END delete_expired function

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you!

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

This is an sql issue. Mysql dates are in the format yyyy-mm-dd. Another method would be to use the mysql now() function, which represents the current date. Also DELETE * FROM is invalid.

$sql = "DELETE FROM cms_table WHERE delete_date >= NOW()";

Thanks Pritaeas, now I just need to tie it all together. Can you possibly provide an example of what this function would look like so that when "expire.php" is called from my cron job, it automatically deletes the expired content (rows)?

Either way, I appreciate the information you have provided and it was very helpful! :)

This is an sql issue. Mysql dates are in the format yyyy-mm-dd. Another method would be to use the mysql now() function, which represents the current date. Also DELETE * FROM is invalid.

I'm not sure what you want me to show you, that is not in my above code.