I'm new to javascript and need to know how to store variables in cookies so that I can later use them later in php code.

Here is the basic javascript I want to use:

function alertSize() {
  var myWidth = 0, myHeight = 0;
  if( typeof( window.innerWidth ) == 'number' ) {
    //Non-IE
    myWidth = window.innerWidth;
    myHeight = window.innerHeight;
  } else if( document.documentElement && ( document.documentElement.clientWidth || document.documentElement.clientHeight ) ) {
    //IE 6+ in 'standards compliant mode'
    myWidth = document.documentElement.clientWidth;
    myHeight = document.documentElement.clientHeight;
  } else if( document.body && ( document.body.clientWidth || document.body.clientHeight ) ) {
    //IE 4 compatible
    myWidth = document.body.clientWidth;
    myHeight = document.body.clientHeight;
  }
  window.alert( 'Width = ' + myWidth );
  window.alert( 'Height = ' + myHeight );
}

Now, I want to save myWidth and myHeight in a cookie(s) but I don't know how to. The window.alert() will only be for testing purposes and will not be needed in the final code. I also need to know if the codes need to be in certain sections such as <head>, etc. Do I need to change any lines of code or need to add anything.

Thanks in advance fo your help.

Recommended Answers

If you want to send out data as GET

just append '?width=xxx&height=xxx' to href and retrieve using $GET

Jump to Post

website.com/page.php?id=&width=[javascript variable]&height=[javascript variable]

this is right - set up window.location to the above

in page.php u can retireve the variable as $_GET['id'] etc . about getting php variables as js variables its easy , just google if you dont get it …

Jump to Post

All 7 Replies

?

If you want to send out data as GET

just append '?width=xxx&height=xxx' to href and retrieve using $GET

So can I use it something like this: ?width=myWidth&height=myHeight