Hi all,

I'm relatively new to ASP.NET - used to code in Coldfusion.
I've got this control created in a page <asp:listbox>.
I also have a javascript function in the same page to add listitems into the listbox on certain client calls such as the following:-

var anOption = document.createElement("OPTION");
obj.add(anOption); 
anOption.text = "foo";
anOption.value = "1";

I am sure that the items are added into the listbox as I can see it on the front end. Okay the problem is, when I trigger a function call in the vb language, I get listbox1.Items.Count = 0. It should be 1 there. So I'd like to find out from fellow ASP.NET developers if the asp's server control will take note of the listitems updated via javascript.

Thanks in advance. ;)

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

I might be able to help you with the .Net side, but I am not as good as you with the javascript. Can you paste the rest of the javascript that adds the option to the listbox?

Hey kev, thanks in advance.
Here's the function in javascript:-

function addOptionToListBox(lsVal, lsNam, obj) {
            obj.add(anOption);
            anOption.text = lsNam; 
            anOption.value = lsVal;
        }

Then onclick of a button, I am trying to get the value of listbox1.Items.Count in vb.

sorry, I still can't get it to even add the option on the client side. Can you post the whole page?

Elements you add via JavaScript have nothing to do with Objects created in ASP.NET. Given the client-server nature of the web, surely you can see why this is the case.

Server Objects (ASP.NET "Web Controls") exist only on the server. When done processing, the ViewState object is created and embedded within the response stream as a hidden form variable. This is the mechanism by which Web Controls are recreated and restored to their state on PostBack.