Hi, I know html and a little javascript, mostly self taught. I was wondering what I would need to know ahead of time to start learning PHP. Is PHP dependant on knowing more javascript or databasing? Also, I was wondering if anyone can point me in the direction of a good source of training on the web? Something cheap or free would be good. Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

For php you must only refer php manual.Complete guidance of PHP.
As for pre-requisite for learing php,you must have understanding on HTML,database,Javascript which are used quite often.

You can learn PHP without knowing those other things. Using PHP in a project though will most of time require knowledge on your standard html, js, db. OP was correct though, the php manuel is the holy grail for information on PHP.

phpacademy if you prefer watching videos.

You will also find tutorial for mysql there. PHP comes to it's power if you dynamicaly use data from a database (and mysql is most often used).

Member Avatar for diafol

You don't need to know any JS to learn PHP. In fact you don't need to learn anything else in order to use PHP. However, as you'll probably be creating websites or applications, learning the other three (HTML, CSS, JS) will be essential. You could do without JS though if you intend on producing static pages.

For PHP, I'd buy a book - there are many out there - Wrox, Apress and O'Reilly are good publishers - have a look at Amazon or similar for pricing and reviews. As books are generally peer-reviewed and edited, you may find them more reliable than random tutorials and videos dotted around the web.

As mentioned the php.net website should serve as your main resource. THis provides up to date info about deprecated and removed functions and examples of how to use functions and constructs.