I am a noob at web programming. I am currently writing a test forum. People will be able to create accounts and then login. But my problem is I dont know how a login script works. So I came up with this idea:

1): 
    Every time an user creates an account I will write the user's name, email and password to a database file.
    Then when he tries to login he my php program will query the file line by line and see if there is a match.
    Once it has a match it will load the users profile page, the name of his page will be [name]+[email]+[password].html
    So that each file will be unique.

So will it work or is there a nother way, posibly better, more secure way?

Also (I am not sure if this is against daniweb rules, I couldnt find anything that said it was) but if anyone would like to work with me on this project please contact me by sending me a message through daniweb.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

That will work, but how will you create each unique file? By hand or? ;)

Here's a quick setup on a basic login script:

1. Create a database table containing user login data (user_id, username, password (encrypted if you wish!)).
  2. Create a login script, that matches the submitted login data against the data stored in your database.
  3. If the login is successful, you can redirect the user to his personal page, which could be unique_page.php?user_id=1. Also you could "remember" that he is logged in by setting a session value, so that the user won't have to login every time he loads a new page.
  4. On unique_page.php, you can check if a user_id has been given in the URL, and if it has, you can retrieve the user's data.
  5. Write a login checker on each page, which checks if the login is still valid.

Something like that. I think doing a quick Google search might help you out a lot :). Are you new to PHP?