User fills out certain values in a form and hits the submit button.
The values the user filled out will be submitted to the database.
The user needs to come back to that form and be able to update the values he did not enter the first time.
How would i do this with PHP?

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Member Avatar for diafol

Show us the code you have so far.

There's alot of coding to do with regard to your description. I'd recommend that you break this up into components/phases.

Start with the HTML. Do you have those pages already created? If so, any issues? Once you have the completed, then proceed with designing the PHP components.

First step is to submit the values to a PHP page to process the input and submit it to the DB. Do you have that done? etc..etc...

Yes i have all this done already it just trying to come back and update it once the forms been submitted.
HTML
PHP

anyone?

To be honest, I am afraid I'm a little too newbie for this, but it's obvious that in your php you need a loop that re-renders the page with validation (indicating which fields are missing) until the information is complete no? <ducks> :) >

why you want that user fill form again use validation and force user to fill form in first attempt what filleds are require give validation on that

you can do it by ... if statement like for e.g.

<?php
$sql="select * from user where id=12";
$raw=mysql_query($sql);
if(mysql_nums_rows($raw)>0){
    $data=mysql_fetch_array($raw);
    ?>
    <form>
        Name <input type='text' name='a1' value='<?php echo $data['name']?>'/>
        Email <input type='text' name='a2' value='<?php echo $data['email']?>'/>
        Company <input type='text' name='a3' value='<?php echo $data['company']?>'/>

</form>

<?php

}
else
{
    ?>
    <form>
        Name <input type='text' name='a1' >
        Email <input type='text' name='a2' >
        Company <input type='text' name='a3' >'/>

</form>

<?php

}

?>