How can I redirect a page to another ? For example, if the user is registered he gets to see the members section and if he is not, he is redirected to a 'Register Now' page when he clicks on a members area link.

Also how will it work if he types in the address in the address bar ? For example, he types www.somesite.com/members_area.php. So when this page loads, it checks if the user is logged in. If he is not, it redirects him to a 'Guest' page or something.

The logging in checking can be done by setting a cookie, if I am not mistaken. How can I redirect to a different page or different site ?

I am a newbie at Php, so sorry if this is too trivial.

Regards

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

IM interested in PHP.I can solve your question
I think this is a question about "SESSION"
please write out your code

No, it has nothing to do with session. It has everything to do with HTML headers. You can send a header such as refresh using:

header([i]header field[/i]

I haven't looked up the exact syntax (not on my computer with that info at my finger tips) of a redirect, but this'll give you a good place to start.

redirect a page to another
I know three methods
1 : use header()
for example
<? header("location: $url"); ?>
2: use HTML <META>
for example
<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="5";url=<? echo $url; >>
3: use javascript
for example
<?
echo "<!--<script language='javascript'>";
echo "location.href='$url'";
echo "</script>-->";
?>
AT the same time ,I think it is better if you combine this means with SESSION!

Thanks a lot.

The best way to set authorization for each page is to use the sessions. The best way to do it is to set two sessions variable: one that contain the level of authorization (for the normal users 1, for moderators 2, the administrator 3) or if you dont want different level just a boolean, the other one that contain the id number of the user that you will need to retrive from the database the user's personal data.