Hello.
I'm new to PHP, i've started it yesterday.
I want to creat a simple CMS with (PHP and PDO), what should i do?
I'm going to start with creating the CMS core. I want to create sth like a simple wordpress.
What should i do? Where should i start from? Any reference for creating CMS with PHP and PDO?

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Hi Niloo.

Apart from the language, there's much to be done before start coding.

A CMS can become a monstruous project. So, the first thing I'd do would be to list down all the functionallities that you'll implement at first. 'Simple' doesn't cover it so well.

With the list at hand you can start to build your database schema, to hold all the info you'll need.

Now, with a list of functions and the basic db schema, you can plan your application architecture. It will be ajax based? The server side will be Object Oriented? What's the interface will look like? The interface will be template based? How the editing interface will look like?

With the answers to a few of that questions and a lot of others more, you'll have a clear picture of what you'll need to code. If you don't, you'll at least have enough info to ask for specific help.

If you're in doubt only about the PHP, specially if you're using MySQL, there's lots of projects that genereate PHP CRUD Classes from DB Schema. I guess a couple of them might use PDO. But I'm not sure, it's been a while since I coded PHP.

Good luck.

commented: Good advice +15

I understood, thank you @AleMonteiro.

Member Avatar for diafol