Hi Guys,

As part of an online store, I have a dropdown box where the user selects a size. If the user selects size L then the 'add to cart' button needs to link to a page different than if the user selected size M.

I figured out that I can only grab the selected value for PHP to process if it was submitted, i.e., through a form. Then I could do something like this:

if($_POST['dropdown'] == 'M') {
  $product = 'link';
} else if {
  //do something else
}

But I am not sure if this is possible using a button... I'm still a beginner here, but any thoughts?

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Member Avatar for diafol

You can have a bank of buttons (like radio buttons). However, I'm unsure why you'd want to link to a different 'page'. I'd have thought that size was just a property of the product, just some piece of data to be carried on with the product_id.

<label><input type="radio" name="size" value="S" checked />S</label>
<label><input type="radio" name="size" value="M" />M</label>
<label><input type="radio" name="size" value="L" />L</label>
<label><input type="radio" name="size" value="XL" />XL</label>

Always make sure you have a default checked, otherwise errors can ensue if a user submits without checking a size.

Then you pick it up as:

$size = $_POST['size'];
$product_id = $_POST['product_id'];
$quantity = $_POST['quantity'];

These would require validation.

Of course, most baskets are 'ajaxed', so that you don't lose the page you're on and the item appears 'magically' in the basket, e.g. "BASKET Items: 3"

The HTML given will give you radio buttons, which visual-wise may not be what you want, BUT there are many, many CSS snippets that can give them the appearance of buttons. Sorry, can't help further off on vacation.