I have a list of 4 upcoming events with a fair amount of detail for each. I'd like for the upcoming event to be first one the list no matter the time of year. I'm not very good at code, but I follow instruction well.

Here's what I was thinking:

<script>
compare today() to each of the 4 divs by some mathematical equation. No need to take into account the year, as these events only depend on the month. If a day option can be included, I'll take it... but that also isn't essential.
</script> <div id="3march">All the info for the March event</div> <div id="6june">All the info for the June event</div> <div id="9sept">All the info for the September event</div> <div id="12dec">All the info for the December event</div>

Since it's now August, I'd expect the September event to automatically show at the top, followed by the December event, and then the March and June.

I've searched high & low, and have found this nowhere on the internet. If it's impossible, please let me know. Thanks a ton!

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

A few things. Very few folk write code or your site for you so with that out of the way, you may have reveal more about your web hosting. What database is available as well. To be sure you will learn to code as time passes but if this is to be written by others post this in the for hire or hiring area along with the renumeration for the job.

If I were to tackle this I'd put the details into a database then the PHP would be to query the database to create the view based on today's date.

-> One big deal is that today() could be variable depending on the user's timezone so going in you have to get the user's timezone so you can factor that into your query.

Hello Jon_7