Hi. Im new to codeigniter, so im not sure if its something wrong with the codeigniter or my php. what im trying to do is if the records from a database table is empty echo a message. The message which ,"No records exist!", does display but then underneath is is a php error message box:

A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Warning

list.php

<body>
  <ol>
    <?php
    foreach ($result as $record): ?>
      <li>
      Name : <?php echo $record->user; ?><br>
      Email : <?php echo $record->email; ?><br>
      Date / Time : <?php echo $record->postdate." / ".$record->posttime; ?><br>
      Comment : <?php echo nl2br($record->comment); ?><br>
      Action : <a href="<?php echo base_url('myguestbook/edit/'); echo $record->id; ?>">Edit</a>
      / <a href="<?php echo base_url('myguestbook/remove/'); echo $record->id; ?>">Delete</a>
      <hr>
      </li>
    <?php endforeach; ?>
  </ol>
  <div align="center">
    [ <a href="<?php echo base_url('myguestbook/create/'); ?>">Add</a> ]
  </div>
</body>

model

function read($where, $length, $start) {
        $this->db->limit($length, $start);
        $query = $this->db->get_where('myguestbook', $where);
        if ($query->num_rows() > 0) {
          return $query->result();
        }
        else{
            echo "No records exist!";
        }
    }

controller

public function view() {
      $data['result'] = $this->myguestbook_model->read(null, null, null);
      $data['title'] = 'List of All Comments';
      $this->load->view('list', $data);
    }

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Hi,

according to the source of the get_where() method in system/database/DB_query_builder.php, sending NULL is acceptable as it would skip to set the WHERE conditions. So looking at your code:

$data['result'] = $this->myguestbook_model->read(null, null, null);