Hi,

Basically I am quite new to php but am currently connecting to a database and am trying to send data from one web page to another using the information selected in a hyperlink.

The first web page contains a table populated will all options within the database e.g. if it was computer software it would show all the brands and products. But i want to select one of these products using a hyperlink under that option in the table and use the product details selected to populate the table on the next page e.g. then showing the price and extra details for the product selected.

I don't think this requires the use of a form but am quite stuck with how to do this....i can get the hyperlink to move to the next page but the second page still displays all products rather than the one chosen!

any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

Recommended Answers

All 25 Replies

have your link end in .php?brand=dell

You can add this to the end of a url and it bassicaly stores the variable (dell) in the variable name (brand) which PHP can access.

Than on the next page you can use the
$brand = $_GET;

now the brand variable equals the brand value of the link that was clicked.

Hi,

Basically I am quite new to php but am currently connecting to a database and am trying to send data from one web page to another using the information selected in a hyperlink.

The first web page contains a table populated will all options within the database e.g. if it was computer software it would show all the brands and products. But i want to select one of these products using a hyperlink under that option in the table and use the product details selected to populate the table on the next page e.g. then showing the price and extra details for the product selected.

I don't think this requires the use of a form but am quite stuck with how to do this....i can get the hyperlink to move to the next page but the second page still displays all products rather than the one chosen!