Hi, I am new to this...so hope I can get some help from you all...

I get XML feeds as input and have to store this data on our server. I have worked with databases but new to XML. Can someone tell me how I can store and manage this data?

You can store the XML document in the file system (i.e. as a file on the server) and read the data from it by using standard file system functions. Most of the technologies (J2EE, .NET, PHP, CGI/Perl, etc) have in-built libraries to work with XML files.

I have data in database and a lot of data resides as XML files as well. I do not want to maintain different data stores having the data in database and XML data in files. Is there any way to manage both XML and relational data together in a single data store?

If you do not want to store the XML data as files and want to maintain the complete data in a database, you can store the xml document into the database as BLOB or CLOB type. This would store the XML file in the binary format. This approach is recommended only if you want to store or retrieve the XML file in its entirety. But retrieving a specific element/attribute from XML document would have performance constraints as the complete XML document has to be loaded to fetch even a single record.

I am working on an application for data storage which deals mostly with XML data. I am storing the XML data as CLOB data type. Is there any other way to work with XML data?

Storing the XML as CLOB data type has its drawbacks. Searching and retrieving a subset of the document would be slow. The XML document needs to be parsed for each query to determine which portions of the document satisfy the specified search criteria. Furthermore, updating large objects would also take time. Your applications must provide the entire XML document to the DBMS for update, even if it only changed a small portion of it. This can result in unacceptably high processing costs, particularly if the XML document is very large