hi all,

Let us all share the Interactive learning methods through the Internet.
I mean the interactive learning methods that can be seriously useful and
successful in self studying computer science.I'm a 3rd year student of
here http://www.bit.lk/ and I decided to do self studying due to the
higher fees among the Educational Institutes.And my university doesn't
supply lectures,they just only provide some help through the LMS (through
the internet) and I don't feel sufficient with that.

Here let me mention what I'm using to feel more comfortable.

* Free Video lectures.

* E-books.

* LMS (Learning Management Systems).

* Forums, IRC ,newsgroups etc.

But it's clear that only by these things we can't obtain the practical
expertise and the experience.

For a example there can be some psychological methods that can be used
to learn easily.Please share if you have some of these.

Using E-books we can enhance the theory bookish knowledge for sure,then
what kind of activities will be helpful to turn that bookish knowledge
into the practice? Some kind of project work. Contribution to the open source
world by coding and digging into their projects?

please share your experience/knowledge to optimize the self study learning curve
for IT and Computer Science students all over the world.Share your new ideas.

well, I really dont have a specific format for this..but what I can tell do is tell you what I do:

I decide one day that I really like graphic arts..(this is an example)
so I will go out and download all of the good software for this (photoshop, gimp, maya, Illustrator) ect.

then I will sit there for about a year..making anything and everything LOL following tutorials on the net. there doesnt have to be a purpose in a button tutorial..it is just best for me to spend alot of time making meaningless stuff..so that one day, I can take all of this meaningless stuff and make something meaningful out of it.
now how to get field experience is the fun part :)