Hello! I have a friend that is really interested in programming, I'm going to try to teach him this summer. I'm posting this to begin a discussion on how I think I'm going to acheive this so he has the best understanding of everything down the line. The title of this is a metaphor, bottom rung of the ladder being low level computer stuff, top rung being high level/scripting languages.

Most times when I see someone self taught or learning, they start or started with a high level language, like Python, Some form of BASIC, or PHP. I find this starts someone out but hinders the user greatly down the line, these languages are meant to be simple and easy language someone can use to quickly write something up, NOT a learning tool. People that start with these languages I find have incredibly bad habbits and due to the abstraction have no clue what is going on underneath and can't appreciate it or optimize. Other than these habbits, people tend to stick to this language for a long time, because they like the sense of knowing a language, they don't want to return to not, and with languages like Python they have to relearn tons since Python (like) syntax isn't used often...

With my friend I want to dodge this bullet, by starting from the bottom rung. First thing to do would be teach him how a computer works, especially the processor. Secondly we will spend a considerable amount of time in x86-64 assembly, learning instructions and how they work. With assembly knowledge he will understand how programs actually work and what goes on behind the scenes in a compiled language.