With great search hits from google, the internet has led me here to your great web site. As scary as it must be for you, I am now a member here. I am a mac fan in process of changing over from an older power computing mac clone with memory and hard drives hanging out every port.... to a mac mini that looks like it's entire box is a hard drive enclosure.

I will be asking lots of dumb questions about OS X since I have been living on 8.6 a long time. I have new video ipods and a cd burner and dvd burner and have never even so much as burned a cd. My 300 pounds of cables and drives being replaced with a few wireless boxes that look like a moden art display makes me a bit uneasy... I guess I can convert my old flat bed scanner into a tanning bed for my daughter... and build a dial-up internet machine out of the hulk of my older system.

I am a design engineer that deals with RF radiation along with motors / AC power / gensets .... transmitters and the transition of current television from analog to digital ( cause digital must be better ? ). I love to go boating , and live on a river. All summer I wake up and have my coffee on a pontoon boat or inboard V8 malibu skiboat running 42 mph several feet from concrete bridge supports ... I get shot at in my job every now and then, but learning OS X scares me a lot more.

Change your password / hide your daughter / double check your firewall / lock your tool box ... quantico is here

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Hi Quantico! Welcome to DaniWeb :) I promise you that you'll love your new mac ... and OS X. What I love about the operating system is it combines the best of Windows (nice GUI, powerful apps such as Adobe Photoshop, MS Office) with the best of *nix (CLI, very configurable and hackable) Enjoy and the best of luck!

Hi Quantico! Welcome to DaniWeb :) I promise you that you'll love your new mac ... and OS X. Enjoy and the best of luck!