Hi guys! new guy here! I have a little of a problem, I graduated from college in '03 with a major in Computers Information Systems. I joined the military and my military duties have nothing to do with my studies. Now that I have less than a year of service left, I thinking that I want to try and do a career in the IT field.

My first question will be, how is it? How is the day to day taks that you do in your job? Do you like it? Is it challenging?

My second question will, since I only have a very basic knowledge and its been a while, what kind of literature is out there that can give me an update in the new things about the career field? I have kept up with the basics, but not into the in depth stuff, keep in mind that I have no experience in the career field.

Another thing, since the military can pay for any type of certification that I desired up to $10,000, is there any particular one that you recommend?

This all depends on what area of IT you want to go into. I graduated in '06 and wanted to move north, I am a big outdoors guy but love the IT path. I took the best job available where I wanted to live and honestly have been pretty disappointed with the amount of technology I get to work with. My recommendation is to start your own thing. I have recently worked something out with my current job and will be able to focus more on my business, I am also currently earning a masters in software engineering because I did not feel my undergrad prepared me enough, and for my current situation a Masters will help me find work and stay where I want to live, ie telecommuting.