Hi, I am a beginner in programming, i had a go at java, found in really hard, got a bit scared of programming ever since. My interest at the moment is web, so maybe i need to learn some language, is there any easier alternative to java?

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Python is friendly and relatively painless.

Its all a matter of what you perceive. Some prefere php, asp.net, jsp and the list goes on.

Focus on plain html first, then move on to a programming language to incorporate with it once you feel comfortable.

I strongly recommend learning PHP (or JSP) and Oracle together.

Knowing how to design a Web page and manage a database can get you MANY jobs in the IT field, especially when integrating a Database to store information sent from forms in HTML processed requests.

Knowing XHTML is also a plus. ASP is another topic you may want to consider tackling.

From there you can proceed to a back-end language like Java, VB, C# and integrate those with the Web and Database knowledge.

I'm starting from the other end (learned (and still learning) Java as well as some C++) and I'm approaching Oracle to integrate with new projects and concepts. I find the web much harder to understand, though I always hear it's "easy."

Eye of the beholder I guess... anyways good luck! =)

I def agree with alex on this. Some people start on programming ends and learn the web integration, some the opposite.

I started off on the programming side and consider web harder that just the programming aspect. Many people will say differently.

Find out what you are more comfortable with and makes sense to you, then move on to either the web side or the programming side.

hi,
You can use Lisp as an Alternative to Java

Firstly what do you want to develope? Do you need only client-side coding, or do you also need server-side coding?