Member Avatar for DaniWebUser_1

I'm recording this time and date for posterity - January 18, 2015 at 5:03 p.m. (Pacific Time). What is the significance of this moment in history? It's the exact time and date that I finally solved what was probably the most plaguing problem I've ever encountered in any subject I've ever studied. Some of you might be thinking to yourselves, "javascript... really?" Well, keep in mind that I'm still fairly new to programming. Also, maybe the reason I had so much difficulty with a javascript problem is because I'm not the super genius that many of us wish we were. Wouldn't life be so much easier as a super genius? Well, maybe not, but that's a discussion for another time.

I had been trying to solve the same problem for the past five weeks. I tried everything I could think of, watched video tutorial after video tutorial, constantly hit the text tutorials at w3shcools.com; youtube was no help, w3schools only echoed what I had already learned, my patience had expired weeks earlier, I cursed javascript for being a worthless language that didn't do what I wanted it to do, and I was on the verge of ripping my hair out. I even questioned my intellectual capacity for learning how to code. The only thing I had left was my perseverance; my unwavering desire to learn how to code no matter how many months or years it would take me and regardless of how vexing the potential obstacles might be. And without that perseverance I wouldn't be writing these words that will hopefully offer at least some level of inspiration to others who, like myself, have experienced what it's like to be halted by seemingly insurmountable adversity - not just in the field of programming, but with any worthwhile endeavor.