Hey,

I'm new to the software devolpment, but I would like to know what developers use to make operating systems.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

They use massive amounts of C, assembly, and often C++. Nothing fancy like .NET. ;) If you're thinking about creating one... nah. Or at least spend a few years learning C before attempting it, and bring a whole crew of programmers with you when you do start.

Not to mention Bliss and a host of other languages...

wow so it went A,B,C,D

assembler, bliss, c,

cool!

wow so it went A,B,C,D

assembly, bliss, c,

Of course! You don't think they'd name a programming language after an arbitrary letter in the alphabet, did you?

Oh and btw I fixed your quote. :cheesy:

ah thanks i get confused :)

im learning assembley next year btw. Is it hard?

I don't know, I've never really programmed with it. I've heard that it's not actually as complex as it looks; it just takes a really, really long time to write anything. ;)

Of course, assembly isn't actually used to write entire programs; it's most useful in C/C++ programs where you simply need to embed a little assmebly algorithm which can significantly increase the speed that your program runs at.

So if i wanted to learn about how to make operating systems, should i learn about computer sciecne or computer programming??? I am very interested in learning how to make operating systems.....if anybody knows any webopages that I can read up on about how to make operating systems or the developmetn of oeprating sytems that would be great!!!!:)

Computer programming teaches you essentially how to create an operating system, but don't think that computer science is not important: in fact, it gives you a good base knowledge of how a computer and software interact, which will definitely help you in the long run, as operating systems talk to hardware A LOT.