Hello,

Sorry, perhaps this is very silly question. But, your ideas would help.

Suppose, I am a freelance web developer who works from home. Do you think it is all right to mention my telephone numbers in my web site or should I just use email for others to contact me?

Thanks,
Durga

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

Provided it is convenient to take calls, go for it.

However I'd suggest using something such as callingsources.com, where you can get a US voicemail service, even if, like me, you're not in the US.

That also helps avoid time-zoze differences, so you don't get prospects calling you at 2AM...

AC

It really depends upon the nature of your work. If you want to add value to your work then you should be adding the phone support for your clients. It also increases the trust level of the client.

Time zoze? I need more sleep..

Yep, Nano is correct, a telephone number can be a huge boost to your credibility and trustworthiness. Interestingly, Google thinks so too...

AC

Consider Google Voice so you won't have to give out your real phone number.

Adding your tel. num. will boost to your credibility and trustworthiness but if you need to invest considerable time on the work/service you provide... Answering the phone all day might be a hassle. So, look for an alternative like a voice mail service.

I agree with Dani and jennypitts - Google Voice will provide you with an alternative # that will forward calls to your personal line(s) AS WELL AS act as a voice mail service.

I strongly advise to never, ever include your home number and use Google Voice or retain a local call forwarding service.

Google voice is similar to Google checkout. It's great if you're one of the 5% of the world's population that lives in America.

;)

AC