I am new to dreamweaver and want to set the colors on a web page in a user friendly mode. I am using the two column hybrid template, and can set the background color with the page properties, but cannot find the way to set the footer, header, side column, main column without putting hex codes into the html code - there has to be a better way - any help?

thanks - gred

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

You can use page properties to set the page's background color and such. Let me know if you need any other help!

Hi Gred and welcome to the DaniWeb Community. I am going to list every possible way I know of to fix your problem. Solution 1.
In DreamWeavercs3 there are three buttons on the top left hand corner.
this is the name of each button Code,split,design.

All you have to do is click on code and change the CSS that Dreamweaver has set as default for that template. You can change the CSS to your hearts delight. You can easily figure out what CSS is used for the footer,header,side column, and main column by either reading the HTML (or XHTML) and see the CSS class each section uses.
Solution 2.

You can also edit the CSS simply by clicking on the area you want to change which should bring up the CSS used in that section. Now you can bring up the CSS Properties box windows by pushing shift+f11 on a pc. Then you will see a box that says css styles and there will be a button that says all and current. You would want to choose current then you just edit the css via right clicking hit edit and change what you want then hit apply and ok.

Solution 3 ( a bit advanced but it is a solution)