I've been looking into getting my own WYSIWYG editor, to play around with, I plan on going into web design when I get out of the army. I was wondering if Frontpage is any good? I have the opportunity to get it in a sealed condition from someone in my unit for about 40 bucks (I looked into the price, I saw about $215 for one) How does it compare to dreamweaver? Which I have not purchased because I can't afford it at the moment. Any info would be much appreciated, thank you all.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Microsoft frontpage is really good depending on your dedication and it is simpler than dreamweaver. I have been using it for the past 5 years and almost all my sites were developed using it. Please note that dreamweaver is also very good to use. In fact there are some browser-side/server-side scripts (like current date) that can be easilly achieved in dreamweaver that you wouldn't be able to do in FP. If you are not good enough, site setting up your site before commencing work in dreamweaver can be trying for a beginner as well as webpage layout. There is no harm in trying FP out. One thing I really like about using FP is the ease of uploading your site after you migth have installed your FP extension in the control panel. To be brief, if you need a material (the one I used to tutor myself from a total novice), let me know. There are lots of other things in FP that makes web design a lot easy but I strongly recommend that you learn both alongside. And you know what? You can build a hybrid website using the two software without anyone better smarter. That's what i just started doing recently.
Hope you find this useful a bit.Bye.

Frontpage 2003 is obsolete. There is no 2007 version. It has now been replaced by Microsoft Expression (Web) for home / general website creatoes, and Visual Studio for professional software developers.

Frontpage doesnt compare that well to dreamweaver whereas Expression does.