can any one help? i have an assignment of a twent page site to make, so i decided to create one page as a template, but since this is my first time its kind of hard. the problem is i wanted the top of my page to be two color one under the other with writing in both of them, but they are not becoming the height i want them and there is space between them. i tried tabling it but i not getting the table to work either so it could look neater. another thing is the table i made for the links like home and contact us etc... it not going into the correct space it going at the bottom of everything and not getting any color in the table either. heere is the code could anyone help because its due on the 23rd.
HAVE TO DO IT FROM SCTRACH EVEN ADD JQUERY. OH COULD SOMEONE RECOMMEND A JQUERY SITE TO GET SOME COOL PLUGINS
PLEASE HELP.

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<html>
	<head>
		<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
		<title>Generation Changers Production Company</title>

<style type = "text/css">
			div.heading1 { background-color: #FFD700; 
							text-align: center;
							height: 100%
							font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
							padding: .9em}
			div.heading2 { background-color: #FF69B4; 
							text-align: center;
							padding: .2em}
			div {background-color: #FF8C00;
				margin-bottom: .9em;
				font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;}

div.floated {background-color: #FFF0F5;
							font-size: 1.5em;
							padding-right: .5em;
							float:right;
							text-align:right;
							width: 80%}

</style>
	</head>
	<body bgcolor= #9370DB>
		<div class = "heading1">generation changers production company</div>

<div class = "heading2"> scripture comes here</div> 

<div style = "width: 20%; height: 500px">
			<ul>
				<!-- adding link in list form -->
				<li><a href= "NHRT.html">New Heart Revival Tabernacle</a></li>