Hi All,

I am a web developer and I am lately becoming fairly security conscious.

So two questions for you and any help appreciated.

1)I have my hesitations about my web code being revealed to everyone through the "view page source" feature of web browsers. Apparently the source review may reveal quite a few hints that affect security. Is there a way to prevent people from seeing this?

2)Being a web developer (especially PHP) I would like to know how I can restrict my programs to run on specific domains only. In this way if someone steals my code he can not deploy it on his server.

Thanks for your help all

peter

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Selfish, aren't we?

If your page code is going to run on a user's browser, it must be in source form. The browser itself needs source code. It's an interpreter. The code is never compiled.

If your code won't run on any domain except yours, it won't run on anyone else's ISP, so nobody except people who subscribe to your own ISP could display it.

Also, anyone smart enough to hijack your code could also fix any trick you use to restrict its use.

What I suggest is to put your copyright info in a comment, or on the web page itself. If the info is in a comment, the pirate might not notice it, and then you have proof of piracy when you see your copyright notice on his page in source code mode. Print the screen and see a lawyer. He'll get all the money, but the offender will have to stop using your work.

1)I have my hesitations about my web code being revealed to everyone through the "view page source" feature of web browsers. Apparently the source review may reveal quite a few hints that affect security. Is there a way to prevent people from seeing this?

- Don't implement any kind of security using javascript, implement it at the server. The source for serverside scripts is never shown in a View Source, and can't be seen unless your server is compromised or you have lax protection/errors there.