Greetings...I am new to this sort of thing and hope I am in the right place. I need help from someone who has had a similar problem and can help me. My problem has only occured in the last week or so. When I try to open a file in the drop down box in Word the drop down box freezes for about 30 seconds and when it does open and I try to go to the next level for a file the same thing happens again. I have tried numerous things but nothing works. Have searched exhaustively through Google and while there have been many suggestions none have worked. I am operating in XP professional with Office 2003. I have more than enough ram. I reinstalled Office and still no change. I have tried numerous programs which say they can fix it but nothing works. I use Trend Micro and Ad-Aware and have been using them for some time without any probs. I am now starting to get paranoid and thinking maybe microsoft have caused the problem in order to get us to upgrade to their latest programs. thanks in advance for any help that anyone might be able to provide. John

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Member Avatar for nileshgr

There are some possibilities below:

1. A Virus / Malware
2. Your disk needs defragmentation

Make sure you have Trend Micro's latest updates.

Don't take the foll statement as offence:

I personally suggest people asking me about a good antivirus to use Avast. I had a superb experience with avast. It had removed about 20 viruses, 20 trojans, 1 ad ware and 1 spy ware from my box (when I was using XP, now I use Linux).

You should try out Avast if Trend cannot find any viruses.

Thanks for your help. i defragged, upddated and ran Trend Micro and Ad-Aware and even downloaded and ran Avast which did not show any viruses...I even ran Registry Easy which helps to speed up the computer but so far nothing has worked! I have decided to pay for a technician to have a look but if anyone has any other suggestions I am all ears. Thanks in advance.
John