im new to OS.
i want somebody to please give me the differences between the kernel mode and the user mode.

are these block in memory ?

i did some research on the internet and all i understood was that kernel mode is protected from the user and it is where the operating system is and the user mode is not protected.

but can anybody give some examples to clarify this. and can you please explain what does it mean to say that to update linux you can simply download the kernel ! ( is the kernel a software :S )

thank you so much in advance

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

A kernel is the main program or component of an operating system, it's the thing that does all the work, without it you have no operating system. Linux is actually nothing more than a kernel; the programs that make up the rest of the operating system are generally GNU software, so the entire operating system is usually referred to as GNU/Linux.

User mode is the normal mode of operating for programs. Web browsers, calculators, etc. will all be in user mode. They don't interact directly with the kernel, instead, they just give instructions on what needs to be done, and the kernel takes care of the rest. Kernel mode, on the other hand, is where programs communicate directly with the kernel. A good example of this would be device drivers. A device driver must tell the kernel exactly how to interact with a piece of hardware, so it must be run in kernel mode. Because of this close interaction with the kernel, the kernel is also a lot more vulnerable to programs running in this mode, so it becomes highly crucial that drivers are properly debugged before being released to the public.

Finally, yes, updating Linux simply involves installing a new kernel because, as I said earlier, that's all 'Linux' really is. If you want to update the GNU programs that make up the rest of the operating system, you're going to have to use the tools that your Linux distribution provider supplied with the operating system.