Hi, I'm new to the whole open source racket and was wondering what Unix or Linux OS is the easiest to work with. I just need something to get me started until I can learn about open source a little more and learn some programming. I was looking into Ubuntu, it seems like a good choice, but one of my friends said it was kind of glitchy. He didn't use it that much though. Also I was wondering if it is possible to install whatever OS I choose as well as having windows installed and how I would go about doing that. I'm sure it's not too difficult because I know many people who have OSX and Windows, but I'm not sure if Ubuntu will be the same beast. Any advice or guidence will be much appreciated. Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

yeah

its easy to do it with ubuntu

just download the .iso file (you want the newest one - theres usually two listed), and burn it to a cd in a special way (not as a normal file! use the burn iso/ burn disk image function in your burning suite or download the free version of some software called DeepBurner, and choose "Burn ISO")

Once burnt, boot from the disk. If it doesnt load from it automatically when the pc starts up, go into the BIOS by hitting f1, f12, del or whatever it is - and changing the boot order so it looks at the CD drive first before booting from the hard disk.

Ubuntu will now load from the CD. It may be a bit slow as its running entirely from the CD. This gives you an oppertunity to test it before changing anything. If you like it, click the installer on the desktop.

The installer will give you the option to split your hard disk , by shrinking the windows partition. This will allow you to "dual boot" linux and windows (you chose what one to start when you turn the pc on)

Ok thank you for the help. Do I have to use a cd if I split the partition? Also could I use something else like an external hard drive rather than a cd?

?

you only need the cd the first time,to try it out/install it