Hello guys.
I've been using Windows from a long time, but since a few months I started to use Linux too (and I won't regret it!).

The problem is that... there is too many things! Too many graphical interfaces, desktop managers, file managers... Well, too many of all.

Obviously, it allows us to choice what is best, but I don't want to try everything! I was using Ubuntu 10.10, updated to 11.04 and hated it. Unity sucks. Then I found Elementary OS, which was almost perfect, but I had some problems with it. So, I just don't know what to do.

I want a distro that is nice-looking, great interface, but that is not so complicated (I have Windows for this).

Some suggestion?

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

It really doesn't matter. You can run one desktop, and still run applications built for others, such as KDE apps on Gnome, Gnome apps of XFCE, etc. You can try most of the with live CD/DVD distributions without installing them, to find one that you are most comfortable with. I have used Motif, KDE, Gnome, TWM, XFCE, and others though currently I am running Gnome (with a bunch of KDE applications as well) on Scientific Linux 6 (a clone of Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6) that I am pretty happy with. You will always have issues - nothing is perfect. That's why I suggest you try a bunch of live DVD's to see what you like best. Burn the appropriate ISO images to a DVD-RW so you can reuse it with different distributions as you go.

The point is just that: I don't want to waste my time downloading every single 'well known' distro and tying them all. I'm very familiar with Ubuntu, I just hated the new version. I know that I can just change, but it doesn't seems 'right', you know? I want something that works 'out of the box', so I just install and start using it, with no need to change lots of things (apps are ok).