Hi, I'm a bit new to networking... I'd like to ask for for from you guys out there...

I want to set up 3 networks for our school - 2 in the computer lab and 1 in the office... However, I'd like that to assign 192.168.1.x to Lab1, 192.168.2.x to Lab2 and 192.168.3.x to the office for easy management and to avoid conflict of IP address latter on. I also wanted them to connect to the internet via our dlink router 192.168.0.1... We do not have proxy server yet, maybe sometime next year...

Can anyone please show me the way?

Thank you in advance.

~sirjhun

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I think you would need 3 seperate routers for that..... and then have those routers go into your main router...

That is what i would think that you need to do..... so maybe think about that...

Otherwise another member might have another option.

Cohen

he is correct, to do this, you would need four routers, is there any reason you must keep the networks seperated? if they dont have to be entirely seperated, and you just want them to be easy to manage, try this:

set all the networks up in the following range of ip addresses:
172.16.0.0 - 172.32.0.0
these addresses are reserved for use, just as the 192.168.0.0 address is, set all your subnets to 255.255.0.0 this will place all the computers in the same network, just to warn you again...

you would also need to change the router ip

Or you can go with three switches and a router.