Hello:

Well this is a complicated problem but I will do the best I can to explain it. I have an older laptop (Dell Latitude) and I am a student that lives in the dorm that has both a wireless and an ethernet connection. I have been using my wireless card to connect to the internet, with no problems but a few days a go (4 to be exact) my computer totally would not connect to the interent. My wireless card was plugged in but the computer was acting as though it could not recognize it. So I took the card out and put it back in...then it connected. So once I went online, my computer froze---I didn't think much of it, just waited it out and continued surfing. Then the computer shut down, a blue screen coming up saying something along the lines that my computer has a serious error.

I was worried and immediatley went turn the computer back on, with my wireless card still plugged in. Now it doesn't recognize the card at all. It will say it recognizes new hardware and wants me to reinstall it, but even when I do that it never connects. I have tried rebooting with the card out of the slot, in the slot and even looked at the device manager to see if something was wrong. Sometimes it will connect to the network, only to freeze and crash my computer if I go online.

Yesterday I purchased an ethernet cord to try to see if I could connect like that, but although my laptop says that it is connected @100mbp(I think that is what it says) if I try to go online both my browsers say cannot connect(I use firefox as my main browser but also have explorer). I am at my wits end. I really do need to have access to the internet and I am very confused to what is going on. I have scanned my system for virues (McAfee) and nothing came up. I also scanned using Spybot(that had been recently updated) and it did see 4 items, but I deleted them and I am still having the problems. Finally I scanned my system with for adware(lavasoft) and nothing showed up.