I have a Netgear Prosafe GS108 8-port gigabit switch which I've been using at home for a couple of years without problems. It's uplinked to my main switch in another room, and has 5 devices connected to it (Tivo, Media Centre PC, IP Camera, Wireless Router, Slingbox).

A few days ago, while I was on holiday, all of the devices connected to the Netgear dropped off the LAN. When I returned I checked the cable connections and they were all fine. I then swapped in an old DG834 switch and everything was fine, so it looks as if the Netgear may be faulty.

The green power LED on the switch is lit, but the other lights are flashing in a strange 3-stage pattern:
1. All 8 green port LEDs illuminated for about a quarter of a second, then
2. LED for port 8 ONLY illuminated for about a quarter of a second, then
3. LED for port 7 ONLY illuminated for about a quarter of a second, then back to the start of this pattern.
This pattern repeats ad infinitum.

I've tried powering down a few times but it hasn't made any difference. I can't find a way of doing a factory reset either - there's no switch on the box, and I can't locate a user manual anywhere on the web.

Can anyone suggest any further measures, before I stump up £50 for a new switch?

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

The user manual for this switch (which is pretty fancy I might add) states there is a reset button on the front panel (somewhere). It's probably nothing more than a small hole with a button in the middle. Push and hold this button for about 30 seconds while powering it up then release.

The user manual for this switch (which is pretty fancy I might add) states there is a reset button on the front panel (somewhere). It's probably nothing more than a small hole with a button in the middle. Push and hold this button for about 30 seconds while powering it up then release.