I have a Compaq Presario V6000 Laptop which is a little over a year old so that makes the warranty no good anymore. Here's the situation....

With the AC power adapter plugged in only the blue ring where the adapter plugs into the computer comes on nothing else. When the power button is pressed nothing happens. I tried taking the battery out and and uplugging the AC power and holding the Power button in for 60 sec. to reset it and that doesn't work. Also tried clearing the CMOS and no luck either. Is this a dead motherboard or something that can be fixed. If it is a dead motherboard would it be worth it to put a new one in? I am a PC Tech that has been out of the feild for awhile but I think I could replace the motherboard if it's worth it.

Does anyone know why this would happen? The laptop is still pratically new.

Search the web with this problem and seems quite a few other people have had this issue with the same model no.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

I dont have any experience with these laptops but this sort of situation does mean that the mobo is gone. If you are a technician then you can check by connecting the mobo to the power and see if the usual connection to power up the mobo is still working or maybe that has failed. Have a play around but it still sounds like a bad mobo as there are no lights at all on the laptop. If you laptop is virtually new then i would change the mobo if i could depending on how much the new one would be. Good Luck.

Raj

Right now I just recieved one of these and am experiencing a similar set of circumstances. With either adapter or battery used as power and on / off button pressed the machine will attempt to power on, LED lights flash and go out for HD, power and upper panel lights for volume ect... These all flash on and then off in about 1 second.

When battery is inserted it does show battery light as well.

No change in status with removal of memory, or storage media.