I'm a beginner and working on a digital attendance system. I'm using the following code in actionPerformed:

for (int i = 1; i < count; i ++) {
            if (ae.getSource () == buttons[i]) {
                switch (available[i]) {
                    case 1: {
                        available[i] = 0;
                        names.remove (unames[i]);
                        System.out.println ("removing " + unames[i]);
                        break;
                    }

case 0: {
                        available[i] = 1;
                        names.add (unames[i]);
                        System.out.println ("at A adding" + unames[i]);
                        break;
                    }
                    default: System.out.println ("Default");
                }
                //System.out.println (names);
            }
        }

But, everytime the loop runs when I click a button, both the cases are executing..

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

are you certain that the actionPerformed is only being called once?

JamesCherrill may be right. To test that idea add a System.out.println("Entered actionPerformed"); before line 1.

However line 5 sets available[i] to 0 then line 11 tests for 0 so maybe it's doing what you coded it to do.
There are many ways to fix that logic. From putting available[i] into a temp variable and performing the switch test on the temp variable to recoding.

line 5 sets available[i] to 0 then line 11 tests for 0

Well, no. Line 5 sets it, line 8 breaks from the switch, and line 11 is never executed. (To be fair, my first guess ws exactly what you said - I had to check the JLS to be sure.)
As far as I can see there's no way for both cases to executed in one pass of that code.

commented: Thanks, I skipped that line and being biologically based made an error. Ooops. +15

Second idea. Line 2. What if that test comes up true when it should not?

More println's to see what it is doing.