Ok, I am a complete noob at programming. As in I know nothing. I've made a few flowcharts, and written some pseudocode for my intro-level class, but most of that was just copying from a format within my textbook and manipulating the actual characters used for whatever I was doing. So far, so good. Well, now we are working with arrays, and I cannot, for the life of me, understand how to work them into either a flowchart or pseudocode.

The problem I'm working with has a scenario where you have 100 students, divided among 4 classes, and they've all taken a test. I need to average the grades, and find out how many scored above and below average.

So I'm assuming that I will need to declare(?) variables for the four classes, starting at zero (because ALL arrays start at zero, or just most? Another thing I don't understand lol), so it would be something like:

class(0)
class(1)
class(2)
class(3)

Now for the students, how do you do that with 100 of them? I find it hard to believe that within my pseudocode I'm supposed to write them all out (student(0),student(1), etc.)... Is there a way to notate that there are 100 of them? Or do you just write student(100) or student(1,100) and it's implied that there are 100 students?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Also, if you could please explain this to me like I'm a toddler, that would be even better ;-)

Thanks in advance!

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

ALL arrays start at zero, or just most?

It varies depending on the language you use. In pseudocode, just specify which one you want and go with it. Pseudocode is, after all, just a faux programming language that helps you think in code better than flowcharts.

Or do you just write student(100) or student(1,100) and it's implied that there are 100 students?

There's something to be said for intuition. Both of those would be valid pseudocode. For example:

declare student(1, 100)

for i = 1 to 100
    assign grades to student(i)