Hey guys, I'm trying to get an idea of my job possibilities in a programming-related field without a degree.

I've been going to my local university for far too long in persuit of a computer science degree, however, I now face the very real possibility of not being able to complete this degree program (about 3 high-end classes short).

I've been a freelance web developer for about 6 years (front and back-end), have knowledge in multiple languages throughout my years of going to school and personal programming, am familiar with several low to high levels of computer architecture, OOP, syntax and grammar, algorithm analysis (optimization), and of course all of my General education requirements, etc...

So the question becomes... what are my chances? what do I do next?

Any ideas (especially from people currently in the field) are greatly appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Traditionally in computer-based fields a degree was mostly useful for your first job. After that your experience and skills would determine marketability, and that's still true more so than in other fields. However, these days a 4 year degree is becoming more and more of a step 1 filter by HR departments. Unless you have a contact on the inside who can recommend you, a degree would help on cold calling.

I have an A.S. degree, but I've been lucky that all of my jobs and offers have been acquired through previous contacts rather than doing foot work. As such, I'm a strong proponent of networking to build a contact list and save yourself the hassle of being just another resume in the stack.

I appreciate the quick response deceptikon. Sorry it has taken me so long to get back to you.

As I said, I'm about 2-3 classes off from getting a BS in computer science. It appears I may have to start making cold calls (yet to be determined), but if I were to do so, would you have any suggestions on research, languages, or problem solving skills which I should shine a light on?