I am trying to understand Boyer Moore algorithm & KMP algorithm (Knuth Morris Pratt)? I tried some places like GeeksForGeeks, TutorialsPoint etc. But I have still some doubts. If you guys have some resources or videos where these algorithms are explained in somewhat simple terms, please share them. First I am trying to understand the logic behind these algorithms clearly. Then I will go to code implementation.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

I read the Wikipedia on this and came back that I would not code this at all but use the search calls/APIs that are currently in whatever language I'm coding in now. If I felt one method was better than the next I would test it using each supplied search against a few test sets and be done with it by days end.

Maybe there's some homework assignment here but that was not told.

I am a student. I am trying to learn these two algorithms. I am not looking for ready-made apis to get the job done. That is the problem, I can't skip it.

Did you read the Wikipedia on these. I read one at least if not more and felt they did an excellent job of explaining how they work.

But understanding how they work may not give a beginning programmer all they need to know to "code it up." Remember you didn't reveal this is homework as well as what the assignment was. Imagine the poor student that was assigned yet another Time Complexity piece of homework but wrote what you did and left out what they really needed to do. Nod to https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Time_complexity

As to learn these two algorithms, in all the classes I took over the year the algorithms were in the text that was part of the course. Today we can supplement that with the web but did the prof forget to supply "source material"?