I hope I phrased the question properly... I'm just curious if there is a way to determine what programming language was used for a particular .exe application. I'm a programming newbie starting to study VB and, like many others, I wonder if this is the best language to learn. My thought was that if I could determine what programming language(s) was used in constructing some of my favorite executables, then I could judge the capabilities of each and decide which is right for me. Also, just as in web design, where it's sometimes helpful to view a page's source code to determine how certain effects are achieved, I think it would be educational to study the source code of other programs. I've tried the obvious -- simply opening an .exe with a text program, but all I see is a mish-mash of symbols. Is this encoding designed to hide the programming?

I guess my basic questions are: How can I determine the programming language of an .exe file? And how can I view it? -Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

> I'm a programming newbie starting to study VB and, like many others, I wonder if this
> is the best language to learn.
Absolutely no. There are better languages out there like Java, Python etc.

> then I could judge the capabilities of each and decide which is right for me
You don't decide the merits of a programming language based on whether it generates and executable or not!!

> I think it would be educational to study the source code of other programs.
As far as learning from others' code is concerned, head over to sourceforge which is the home of numerous open source projects out there, just pick up your favorite programming language project and start studying / contributing.

> How can I determine the programming language of an .exe file? And how can I view it?
AFAIK, you can't, in both of the cases.

>Is this encoding designed to hide the programming?