Hi there!

I am a new programmer, still learning the basics, and very confused. I don't know what type of programming language would be best for whatever the situation or problem is.

For instance, I want to write some type of program that will allow me to take data from another program and plug it into some type of spreadsheet, that will be posted on a website. I can easily pull the data and plug it into an Excel worksheet and then post that on the website, but I'm more complicated and difficult than that. I want to be able to just press buttons, and it automatically finds the information for me, plugs it into a spreadsheet that can be viewed by others.

Ok...for example...

We have servers and we need to find out what the down times are for them each day. We usually go to another website to pull the data from (running Linux code) and then just write it in an e-mail, only the amount of data we pull is great, so it becomes a great pain to type the information, tab, type the information, tab...you get the point. This is what I want it to do...I want to be able to press a button that says "XW1" Server (that should be able to run some type of query on the website that pulls the data) and then it should be able to pull that data and put it in some type of format that people can view and read.

ANY ideas??? Ok...i know that is all confusing, so much easier if I were able to show you, I'm sooooooo sorry if it's confusing, i just want to know what type of program i should use...and what exactly is an application program????? thanks a whole bunch for even getting this far in my confusing post!!! :)

p.s. i am EXTREMELY computer illiterate...so I would greatly appreciate it if y'all can explain in non-computer terms...hahaha...sorry :)

There's any number of programming languages you could use for that.