Hi folks,

I'm building a database to store student exam results so that transcripts can automatically generated. This is a final year project for university so the database will never be used. I am a complete amateur when it comes to designing databases.

I have attached the relational schema for the database. I'd be grateful if someone who knows about proper design could tell me if its ok (from the point of view referential integrity and normalization etc).

I'd really appreciate helpful comments.

Regards,

sabatier

Just to explain a few things:
1) In the OverallMarks table, MarkType refers to whether the overall mark (i.e. 1st honours, 2nd honours) is for JF (Junior Freshman), SF(Senior Freshman) and so on.
2) In the ExamResults table, YearOfStudy refers to JF, SF, JS or SS. Year refers to the actual year the exam was sat e.g. 2007.
3) The data in the database will be coming from Excel spreadsheets, so my database will not be doing any calculations on the data. That's why I'm storing the overall mark instead of calculating it from the ExamResults table.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

First off, the only two tables that are in any sort of normal form are Students and Subjects.
The others do not have a primary key. Secondly, you are repeating information from the StudentSubjects to ExamResults table. It seems to me that the StudentSubjects table is entirely redundent, further denormalizing the design. While there may be practical reasons for denormalization, (mostly reducing the need for large and expensive joins to increase query speed) i have the feeling that in an academic setting, this would be frowned upon. unless they actually wanted to *use* the database of course ;-)

So...

1) Eleminate Student subjects
2) Stick a primary key on everytable, even if you don't think you need one. For the tables that don't already have one an identity column should do.