natha 0 Newbie Poster

Please forgive the long post, but I thought it best to be thorough, even if I'm only looking for pointers.

I am working on a schema for a PostGreSQL dbase that is meant to contain all the metadata for all our Digital assets that are for distribution on online: audio, video, multi-media and text/html publications on our web site. This will serve as a back end to drive a front end CMS. We are still in the early stages of design. Having looked into (and used some of these) the backends of Drupal, Joomla, WordPress et al I'm convince that we need a more human readable framework and I've adopted the Dublin Core (DCIM) set of terms as a beginning with the addition of additional field names from the Media Annotation Initiative. My problem is: DCIM vocabulary is RDF in nature and doesn't translate very well into a dBase schema. (See initial field lists below, some of which will be keys from other tables)

I'm a bit of a newbie and obviously out of my depth , but being fearless I go forward anyway...My problem and question today is three fold:

1) are there any models digital-library assets for this that I could look at? I feel like I'm reinventing the wheel, but it may not be a bad idea.
2) if you have a single "title" of a digital asset that has 6 incarnations: print (URL locator would in our eStore), text/html version (free on line,) audio version, ePub version (available thru iBookstore), PDF, and an iPhone app. I'm not sure how best to build this... do we have a single record for the Title, and then we have additional "keys" that tell us what are the various formats the title is in? or is it better to have a single record for each of the formats (they have very different properties, URL locators, mime-types etc. for the same "Digital Asset"